THE BEST COOKIES YOU WILL EVER HAVE

For our English final, we were presented 3 options: create a presentation on what is the best, what is the worst, or how to do something.  Being the indecisive and sometimes lazy person I am, I chose option 3 since it seemed the easiest.  That and I couldn’t decide what I thought was the best and the worst.  There’s just so many options, you know?  Well I LOVE baking and I LOVE sharing with other people so I thought “Hey, why not make something the whole class can enjoy?”  I mean, who doesn’t love cookies?  (There are probably a lot of cookie haters but whatever they’re missing out.)

I have such a sweet tooth and occasionally, when I’m bored enough, I look through the collection of various cookbooks that we have.  I’m actually confused as to where they came from because I have no recollection of ever getting them.. They’ve just kind of been there.  When I thought of what I could possibly make for my final one thing immediately jumped in to my head: ice cream sandwiches.  Not what you expected, huh?  After some consideration, I decided that although they were absolutely delicious, I could do something better.  Ice cream is fairly simple and so are chocolate chip cookies, plus I had no idea how I could keep them cold prior to going to class.  My mind frantically searched for another idea and I remembered something that looked especially yummy as I flipped through a baking book: lollipop sugar cookies.

They’re not literally lollipops, but you put sticks in them so they look like lollipops.  They’re sooo simple to make and they turned out really well the first time I tried them.  They’re really great for parties and they look prettyyyyyy.  Instead of just listing all the reasons why they’re great, I’ll give you the recipe and go step by step so you can try them out for yourselves.  Like any other dessert, they’re not super duper healthy, but if you have those days where you’re craving cookies and you have some time to spare, I say make a batch of lollipop sugar cookies.  You won’t be disappointed.

 

What you need:

1 1/4 cup granulated sugar

1 Butter Flavor Crisco Stick or 1 cup Butter Flavor Crisco all-vegetable shortening

2 eggs

1/4 cup light corn syrup or regular pancake syrup

1 tablespoon vanilla

3 cups all-purpose flour

3/4 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon each baking soda and salt

about 36 flat ice cream sticks or cake pop sticks

1. Combine sugar and 1 cup shortening in large bowl.  Beat at medium speed of electric mixer until well blended.  Add eggs, syrup and vanilla; beat until well blended and fluffy.

2. Combine flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt in a separate bowl.  Add gradually to creamed mixture at low speed until well blended.  Wrap dough in plastic wrap and refrigerate for at least 1 hour.

 

3. Heat oven to 375 F.  Place foil on countertop for cooling cookies. (Or you can just have a wire cooling rack ready to go)

4. Shape dough into 1 1/2 inch balls.  Push ice cream stick into the center of each ball.  Place on an ungreased baking sheet about 3 inches apart.  Flatten balls to 1/2 inch thickness with bottom of greased and floured glass.  Decorate as desired; press decoration gently into dough. (*I found that if you want to put sprinkles or colored sugar on the cookies it is easier to put the sprinkles on a plate first.  Take the ball with the stick in it and cover one side of the dough.  Then, flatten the dough with the glass.    MAKE SURE THE GLASS HAS BEEN SPRAYED WITH NONSTICK COOKING SPRAY AND YOU MAY WANT TO PUT FLOUR ON THE BOTTOM AS WELL.  This way, you don’t get sprinkles and sugar everywhere on the baking sheet.*)

IMG_3655

5. Bake at 375 F for 8 to 10 minutes.  Do not overbake (obviously).  Cool on baking sheet 2 minutes and move to foil to cool completely.

IMG_3662

Soooo as you can see, it’s really simple and they come out looking great.  If you have any questions, let me know and tell me how it goes if you try out the recipe!

Leave a Reply

